Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Joe Tiller Honors Dinner


Honors Dinner
Capping off our busy spring again this year is our marquee event, the Honors Dinner "Celebrating Our Legends VIII" on June 21 at the Purdue Memorial Union.

Highlighting the dinner this year, in addition to the announcement of the Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be the induction into the Indiana Football Hall of Fame for Joe Tiller, Frank O'Shea and Tom Ransom. Officials from the Hall of Fame (which is located in Richmond) will be on hand to conclude the ceremony.

Tiller, the founder of this chapter and now a resident of Buffalo, Wyo., is being inducted as the all-time victory leader in the history of Purdue football. O'Shea is a long-time and highly-successful high school coach who is currently serving as an assistant to his son Kevin O'Shea, the head coach of the three-time defending state champion Knights of Lafayette Central Catholic. Ransom, who is chairman of the board of Kramer Lumber Company in Frankfort, has been a football official since 1965, including 30 years with the Big Ten Conference (21 years on the field, seven in the replay booth and two years as on observer).

Drew Brees, one of Coach Tiller's first recruits who led Purdue to the Rose Bowl in 2001 and the current quarterback of the New Orleans Saints, will help to honor his coach via video, but will be unable to attend this year's dinner. Drew has been a guest speaker and presenter at each of the first seven dinners.

Also at this dinner, Indiana Football Coaches Association will recognize Arnette Tiller, Joe's wife, for her special service to football.

Each year the Tiller chapter honors individuals from the region with its Distinguished American Award, the Bernie Flowers Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award, the Drew Brees Mental Toughness Award, and the Citizenship Award. The chapter also awards its Gold Medallion on special occasions. All previous award winners are being invited back this year to take part in the VIP Reception and Honors Dinner.

Table prices are the same as last year for a table of eight ($400 for general public, $320 for NFF chapter members and honorees' families, and $280 for students). Single tickets are $55 for public, $45 for members and $35 for students. VIP Reception tickets are $200 each.

To participate in any of these events and to place your ticket orders, please contact Jim Vruggink by email or by phone at 765-427-3303 or submit an order by mail using the order form in the chapter's March 2012 Newsletter.

No comments:

Post a Comment